Recipes

Anything in it Slice!

Before Christmas, the La Leche Group I am apart of had a bit of a lunch where one of the ladies made this awesome zucchini slice (I swear I ate about 5) and I got the recipe off her.  I’ve changed it slightly, because at the time I didn’t have any zucchini’s and now I’ve made it a few times, and each time I just add my own thing to it.  So I’ve named it my anything in it slice.

The Original Recipe:

550g Zuchinni
1 Medium Onion, peeled and finely chopped130g Bacon (After fat and rind has been removed)
75g (1 Cup, lightly packed) Grated Cheese
112g (3/4 Cup) Self Raising Flour
Salt and Pepper to taste
4 Large Eggs
83ml (1/3) Oil

Preheat your oven to 180 C.

Finely chop your bacon and Onion and place in a pan.  Cook until onion is soft and not browned.  Set aside to cool.

Line a baking dish with paper and rinse zucchini and grate.  Squeeze handfuls of grated zucchini to get excess water out and place in a mixing dish with the cooled onion and bacon.  Add the cheese, flour, salt and pepper.  Mix.

In a second mixing bowl, mix the eggs and oil together.  Then mix in with the other ingredients and stir to combine.

mixed
Starting to look yummy!

Pour mixture into the baking dish, spread out evenly and place in oven to back for around 45 minutes.  It should go golden and be firm to the touch.

ready

I change the ingredients slightly!  Last night’s slice had Kale, Broccoli and Zucchini in it.  My husband loves the slices and I don’t feel guilty using all that yummy green vegetables!

cooked
Delicious Anything in it Slice!

I love the fact that I can add anything to this slice and it comes out just as yummy as the original recipe.  Next slice I am going to be adding mushrooms and possibly leeks.

I would love to know what else you’d add!  Either on my Facebook page or as a comment to this post, so I have ideas!

Leave a Reply

