IVF · Parenting · Random Thoughts

Starting something new

It’s been just over a year since I found out my IVF cycle was positive and our baby boy, Logan was on his way. A year of ups and downs during my pregnancy and the first 2 months after Logan was born.

It’s taken me a long time to come to terms that my pregnancy was hard, especially with the emotional roller coaster of being hospitalized at 28 weeks with the foreboding news that Logan could possibly arrive early, and finally after being allowed to return home after being informed that I have an incompetent cervix (what a truly horrible way to describe someone’s cervix) and spending the last 3 months of being pregnant dilated to 2.3cms. I still to this day do not know why a stitch was never placed, but Logan did join us on the 12th of June 2016 at 11.14am. 39 weeks and 6 days. He weighed 3.510 kgs and was the smallest person I’d ever seen.

I couldn’t imagine loving anyone as much as I love him. He simply took my breath away and when I looked up to my husband, tears running down his cheeks, I knew that the 12 year wait was worth it. The trials and tribulations that got us to having this little boy in our lives far outweighed anything.

I was in love, and I still am. Watching him sleep during the day is one of my many highlights surrounding Logan each day and I started this blog for a number of reasons.

I don’t know if anyone will read this but I hope some do. I’m writing for myself and to document what a wonderful feeling it is to be a first time mom, and to keep track of the daily activities and milestones in my life as well as my child.

Perhaps I should have started this out saying who I am, but I felt it would be a bit like AA or something similar. I am simply me, Logan’s mom. Taking each day as it comes.

Leave a Reply

